Free Scrivener Alternatives

I recently tried out Scrivener, after hearing about it over and over again from multiple professional writers.  While there were things about the program I loved, it was a little difficult to master, and it also lacked some functionalities I wished it had.  Plus, it costs $40, and though I was using the free 30-day trial, I wasn’t yet convinced that it would meet my needs enough to purchase it.   I wanted to see what else was out there.

So… I looked.

And I found a lot of options.

So, I dug deeper.  I spent many hours testing out multiple programs, mostly free, and comparing their features to Scrivener and to one another.  I read tutorials, I tested out the programs, I created a partial story to try out the software’s functionality… I even took screenshots.

Then I compiled them all and compared them, and what resulted was the chart below.

This chart is by no means exhaustive.  There are plenty of software programs I didn’t try.  I also can’t guarantee the chart is perfect.  It’s possible I missed a feature here or there because it was just difficult to find within the program, or that perhaps some of these programs have been updated or changed since a few weeks ago when I tested them.

However, if you’re looking for writing software and you want to know what’s out there and how it compares to a leading software like Scrivener, then I hope this chart will be helpful to you.

A note: Green checkmarks mean YES to a feature, while blank boxes mean either a general “no,” that I couldn’t find the option in that program or that the option doesn’t apply.  If I took time to put a red X in a box, take that as an emphatic NO.

 

And now, THE CHART:

comparison-of-writing-software_page_1comparison-of-writing-software_page_2I realize that this chart gives only a very brief analysis of each program.  It is intended to be a summary tool to help you see a lot of info all at once.  However, if you want more details about each program I tested, I did create a detailed review for each one (with screenshots!).  You can see these reviews in my “Free Writing Software Review” series posts, in which I’ll be posting a detailed review of each program on the above chart.  These will be posted once a week, starting next week.

Thank you for reading!

If you found this post helpful, please share it with a friend!

Leave a Reply

